Thoughts arrive like butterflies…

Butterflies coming out of head

I have been reading some texts that I find a little more challenging than others.  I think this is because of the language and concepts within them, it makes me have to read every word rather than skim through and get the idea of what it is all about.   While reading these kinds of texts I get ideas, almost like moments of clarity among the fuzz of information.   I do worry sometimes that these ideas and concepts will just fade away and I will never remember them again.  They do come back though, when I reread a passage I have marked in that book, the idea returns and I can write it down.

I said last night that I needed a beekeepers hat to stop the thoughts flying away like butterflies!  The response I got was Pearl Jam lyrics-

Even flow, thoughts arrive like butterflies
Oh, he don’t know, so he chases them away

Leave a comment

Filed under PhD, reading

Leave a Reply

